Truancy programs for high school dropouts are governed by Illinois Code Section 5/26-14. The school district shall permit any dropout, as defined in Section 26-2a [105 ILCS 5/26-2a], who is at least 17 years old to petition the school district for the designation of “truant,” and the school district shall allow such person to participate in the district’s various programs and resources for truants.
- If your child is at least 7 years old or has not completed 6th grade, they are considered truant if they have done any of the following: 5 unexcused absences from school in a row, or 7 unexcused absences from school in a school year are grounds for expulsion. If your child has completed the sixth grade and is under the age of seventeen, they are considered truant if they have done any of the following:
What are the truancy laws in Illinois?
The term “truant” refers to a child who is required to attend obligatory school and who has been absent from such attendance without legitimate reason, as defined under this Section, for more than 1 percent but less than 5 percent of the previous 180 school days.
How many days until a student is truant?
If your child has completed the sixth grade and is under the age of seventeen, they are considered truant if they have: seven unexcused absences from school in a row; or Having 10 unexcused absences from school in a single school year is considered excessive. If your child misses 12 hours or more in a single day, and the school deems it to be a “day,” it will count toward the maximum number of days allowed.
How many days of school can a student miss in Illinois?
Illinois law stipulates that a kid may miss no more than five percent of the 180 normal attendance days in a school year, or nine days, if he or she is ill.
How many excused days of school can you miss in Illinois?
As a result of the signing of a bill last month by Illinois Governor J. B. Pritzker, students will be permitted to miss up to five days of school without the requirement for a doctor’s note starting in January.
Can a parent go to jail for truancy in Illinois?
The crime of “Allowing Truancy” is a Class C misdemeanor in Illinois, punishable by up to 30 days in prison and a $500 fine for a parent or guardian who commits it. Kasiar has charged at least five parents with truancy charges in the year 2021, according to court documents.
Can I drop out of school at 17 without parental consent in Illinois?
No, you are not allowed to drop out of high school while still a minor without your parents’ permission. According to what I understand, compulsory schooling in Illinois lasts until the age of 17, so if you don’t go, you might face consequences.
How do you receive a truancy letter?
First Truancy: If a kid misses three days of school without an excuse, the school will send home the first truancy letter. If you arrive late to school for more than 30 minutes, or if you pick up your child earlier than the scheduled dismissal time, you will be charged with truancy.
What can I do if my 14 year old refuses to go to school?
Discuss the situation with your child’s therapist if he or she is avoiding or refusing to go to school. As part of the solution, he can assist you in developing measures to help fix the problem, such as addressing your child’s sleeping patterns so that he is ready for school the next day.
How can I get out of a truancy charge?
What to do if you’ve been charged with truancy.
- First and foremost, make sure you are familiar with all of your school district’s regulations and state legislation regarding attendance. Maintain accurate data.
- Abide by the guidelines. When you notice patterns emerging, you should look into them. Take the initiative and collaborate with the school. In order to address concerns, consult with the child’s guidance counselor or team leader.
What happens when my child is truant?
In the first instance, make sure you are familiar with all of your school district’s attendance regulations as well as state codes. Maintain accurate records. ; Comply with all applicable laws and regulations. In the event that you see a trend emerging, look into it. Proactively engage in collaborative efforts with the school. Discussions about difficulties should take place with the child’s guidance counselor or team leader.
What happens if a child is truant?
Parental duty to ensure that their child(ren) attends school exists in California, according to the California Education Code. An absentee parent who allows their kid to miss more than 10% of school days in classes Kindergarten through eighth grade may be fined up to $2,500 or sentenced to up to one year in prison if their child is persistently absent from school.
How much is a truancy ticket in Illinois?
If, on the other hand, skipping continues to be an issue, kids will be issued a truancy ticket, which will result in a $50 punishment for each and every time they fail to show up for class.
How many excused absences are allowed in a school year 2021 Illinois?
During any school year, such a student shall be permitted to take up to 5 days of excused absences, with additional excused absences given at the discretion of the school board to visit the student’s parent or legal guardian in connection with such parental leave or legal guardian deployment.
When can a student drop out of high school in Illinois?
Students in Illinois have the legal right to drop out of school once they reach the age of 17 — or even earlier under certain conditions. Every state has “compulsory education” legislation, which oblige students to attend school on a daily basis. In Illinois, this implies that students between the ages of 6 and 17 are required to attend full-time school until they complete their secondary education.
What is considered an excused absence from school in Illinois?
Illness, observance of a religious holiday, death of an immediate family member, family emergency, situations beyond the control of the student as determined by the Board, voting in accordance with Board of Education policy 7:90, Release During School Hours, and other valid reasons for absence from school are permitted.